Archive for March 1, 2010

Help Me Investigate West Midlands’s Councils

Following on from my recent news report on Birmingham City Council’s recycling facilities and policies and their involvement in WRAPs latest PR campaign I’ve decided to look at the rest of the West Midland’s councils.

Mainly I’m looking to compare and find which is the best and the reason why. If you’d like to help please follow this link to help me if you’re interested.

Leave a Comment

Latest Work

Had a very informative lecture today, afterwards though I was able to get down to doing some further research into the current environmental goings on in the West Midlands.

I found a number of stories which I’ve linked on my delicious bookmarks. I passed on one to the editor of our Birmingham Recycled Lifestyle section, it was the story of how a Birmingham company handed over the keys to an eco home today.

I also found a story which I think i may go into further, it’s about the creation of an eco-town near Stratford-upon-Avon, called Middle Quinton. Its been planned for a while now and has gone through a number of problems, from protest marches to being told it wouldn’t be sustainable. The whole town will be revolutionary, including being the first town to be fully dependant on recycled materials. For a better a look check out its home page or my bookmarks which have a variety of news stories from various sources.

I also got some feedback on my first story, due to the amount of angles I went through it seems the start of my news story wasn’t very clear, after talking to my lecturer I’ve found out what to pin it down to, so I shall try to edit it soon.

Apart from that I’ve pin pointed my next story which shall be a follow-up to find some responses to the story by groups such as Friends of the Earth. Additional I’m going to highlight the problems with Sandwell and the recent article about the Bin Men strike, I’ll be contacting the council again to see whether there’s any connection between the cost of the recycling scheme they have and not being able to pay the bin-men, as Birmingham City Council stated they wouldn’t fund a similar scheme because of the cost.

Comments (1)